Home » Online Courses » Mary Magdalene: A Leader for the First and Twenty-First Centuries

Mary Magdalene: A Leader for the First and Twenty-First Centuries

Course presented by Dr. Shirley Paulson

Christians have imagined Mary Magdalene as the repentant prostitute for well over a thousand years, but now, after the discovery of the Gospel of Mary and other early Christian writings, we know there is not a shred of truth to that. She was also the one person most closely associated with the resurrection of Jesus. Was she actually one of Jesus’s disciples? Or even the first apostle? In our own complex and confusing world of the 21st century, what we learn from Mary can startle us with refreshing spiritual insights. They are profoundly relevant today for people who resonate with the teachings and acts of Jesus.

Upcoming Live Online Hybrid Course

Our live online hybrid courses allow you to watch a video lecture series at your convenience (course lectures are available 24/7) and participate in several hours of scheduled Zoom group discussions about the material, led by Dr. Shirley Paulson. Registration for this hybrid class is $119 and includes access to the course materials for at least two years.

Would you like to sponsor a live online hybrid course? If you and a group of friends are interested in taking a course together, we are interested in making that happen! All courses (check the list out here) are available as live online hybrids, so just get in touch with Shirley to work out the details.

Mary Magdalene: A Leader for the First and Twenty-First Centuries

6 Online Discussion Sessions every other week on Sunday
Dates: September 1 through November 10
Time: 7:00 pm London (2:00 pm Eastern, 1:00 pm Central, Noon Mountain, 11:00 am Pacific in the US)
Registration Fee: $119.00

About scheduled times:
You can convert to your time zone here. Please keep in mind that dates are important because Daylight Savings Time changes may happen during the run of a course and Daylight Savings Time changes happen on different dates in different countries.

Purchase the self-study course through Udemy

Unlike our other course offerings, the online course that is offered through the Udemy platform doesn’t include any discussions with Dr. Paulson. The Udemy course includes all video and printed course materials, and allows you an opportunity for solo learning, online, at your own pace.

Click here to purchase access to the course on the Udemy platform.

Please note, purchasing courses on Udemy using the links on this website results in Early Christian Texts receiving the majority of your purchase price. Purchasing from Udemy without using the links you find here on earlychristiantexts.com (for example, going directly to Udemy.com) results in Udemy recieving most of your purchase price. We appreciate you supporting Early Christian Texts by using the purchase links above.

Peoples Catholic Seminary (PCS) Courses

Online video instruction, with six online discussion sessions held one evening every other week. PCS courses are nondenominational and open to all.

A PCS course stated on May 14, 2024. We’ll let you know if and when a second course is offered.

About Our Courses

This course can also be presented as an in-person Bible and Beyond Presentation, or you can sponsor a Live Online Hybrid Course for your friends, church, or organization. This course is great for small groups or organizations of various sizes.

New courses are always in development, but suggestions for course topics are welcome. What would you like to learn? Contact us and let us know.

Join the community on Facebook for conversations about our online courses and other topics of interest.

More Learning Opportunities from Early Christian Texts
Bible and Beyond Courses
Bible and Beyond Discussions
Bible and Beyond Presentations